The “HIGHLIGHT” life

“If you can’t see my highlight from space I’m not wearing enough”

“You’re a crayon, I’m a highlighter. You may color the world, but I make it brighter”

I came across these quotes while I was doing some research for this article and I thought “Yes” I’m on the right track !!”.

I chose to write today about the “Highlight life” because most of my clients are so afraid of trying new things with makeup and top among their fears is face contouring.

Let’s begin by defining the fear. What is commonly called “highlight and contour” is all contouring.

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 11.16.22 AMThe dictionary definition sums contouring up as to outline or map out. Thats what you do when you contour and highlight. What is commonly referred to as contouring usually refers to mapping out the low lights of the face with a darker colored powder or liquid foundation. Highlighting maps out the high points of the face with a lighter colored liquid or powder foundation. As a professional I admit that this can get complicated and takes a lot of practice.

Enter your trusty highlighter.

WHAT IS A HIGHLIGHTER?

A cream or powder face makeup that attracts light, creating the illusion of brightness and height, hence that lit-from-within look.

ed24b5582e0721e60ebf88e709b05e7aMy personal favorite is from Becca Cosmetics in Topaz. This complements my skin as it has a golden color and I am a brown skin gal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

89837e3313e7d7f9b4d3934ca4f3e3daFor my professional kit I use “That Glow” from Anastasia Beverly hills as it comes with four shades that can match any skin tone. I use Golden Bronze for myself.

WHY ARE WE NOW GOING TO LOVE IT ?

It’s going add depth to the face without the fear of the complicated contouring routine.
The highlighter is usually used in addition to the contour routine but because on its own it works to add dimension a makeup beginner can use it to make their makeup pop and glow. The technique recently became popular and was dubbed “Strobing”

f4a43242f22739633c327a14719ed93e

The photo shows exactly where you apply the highlighter. Tops of the brow, the cheekbones, bridge of the nose and tops of the lips (cupid’s bow). These are the high points of the face and where the light would naturally hit. So we are drawing more light to these points to make them stand out. In doing this we are automatically making the low points of the face seem lower.

VOILA !!!

You just contoured !!!

 

The tools for this are basic. I use my fingers on myself with a light touch and blend. On my clients I use either a fan brush or a blending brush.

My favorite brushes are from MORPHE and I use the M497 Duo Soft Fan Brush or the M332 Fluffy Crease Blending Brush. You can order them online at Morphe Brushes. These brushes are so affordable and high quality its insane.

I hope this article was helpful and you guys go try it out. Write a comment when you do or send me some photos. Happy high life !!!

Leave a Reply

