Work Hard but make sure you Play Harder !!!

The Entrepreneurial journey is one fraught with ups and downs, wins and losses. Along my short and continuing journey I have made a few mistakes but hiring Carissa Daniel, The Business Radical was not one of them.

Carissa hosts a Blog of her own and asked me to guest write a piece on my own experience. I hope you enjoy.


The Online Urban Dictionary defines ENTREPRENEUR as follows:

“Somebody who has the balls to drop their current job, relationships, family, friends to pursue rich dreams. Somebody who wants to be recognized by their community, or even their country. Somebody who views the world differently. An entrepreneur is the person who knows the world is flawed, they know a 9-5 job isn’t fulfilling, they know the educational system is shit. We are the risk takers. We are the ones who want to make it big in life. Our peers will go job hunting with a piece of paper called a “degree” while we’re creating our own jobs. We’re the boss. We’re the one who hire people. We’re the one who starts a business. We are entrepreneurs.”
I read this and felt like I could stand up and beat my entrepreneurial chest !!! Grab the bull by the horns and own it !!! That’s the lifestyle we sell as entrepreneurs. We are in control, we are ouIMG_6486.JPGr own boss, we call the shots. What happens when the boss, shot-caller ,horn-grabber, chest-beater is just plain tired? When business is great but as the business owner you are worn down and overwhelmed by it all? Where does the Urban Dictionary talk about that ? It doesn’t, so let’s.

I worked in corporate from the time I left University. Eventually I knew there was more to life than making some invisible entity money while loosing my precious family time. I quit my job and followed my dream. My dream was this, to make a life that I didn’t have to take a vacation from.To serve and make people happy while making a living. In making this very dream a reality however I get caught up and loose sight of it. Let me however share my tips for making sure the dream is still alive.

Do what you love…
… and you will never work a day in your life. While working for the man, I pursued activities that made me happy and researched ways in which I could make money from them. I sacrificed many evenings after work doing makeup and eyelash extensions for friends until I started getting paid for it. Ureka !!! A possible sustainable business !!!

TravelDSC05519
As a human being one must keep learning constantly. More so as a service provider in my ever changing industry. I seek out training in places that I have never been and make it a vacation. Who says you can’t combine work with pleasure ?

Take a knee
In the blockbuster movie “After Earth”, Will Smith’s character (Cypher Raige) says to his son, Jaden Smith (Kitai Raige) “Take a Knee” . He uses this quote throughout the movie to center his son and calm him. I try to remember this or some other calming quote when I feel overwhelmed. The first instinct is always to push on and push through the hurdles. Get it done now. It must get done now. I have found that “now” when feeling flustered and overwhelmed is not always best. Take a knee, take a breath, a tea, a coffee or a walk and attack it later with a clear head and light heart.

Mind your business.
A guaranteed source of hypertension is looking at what the other person is doing. Yes we must keep sight of our competition, advancements in the field, price changes etc, but be confident that you and your team know what’s right for your business and your clients. Be sure to be the best at what you do but make sure it’s your best and not someone else.

The journey is the destination
You will fail, you will win, you will laugh, cry, scream… it’s all a part of the beautiful journey we as entrepreneurs, visionaries, chest-beaters, horn-grabbers, shot-callers have embarked on. Be sure to sincerely enjoy your choice and cherish the journey.

We are the privileged few who have chosen this life. Work hard my friend but be sure to play harder

Leave a Reply

